Cache

The browser cache is a folder with copies of data from pages that you've visited. The cache usually stores page elements that aren't likely to change often, such as music, videos, images, styles, and scripts. The next time you visit these pages, Yandex Browser for Mobile retrieves them from the cache instead of re-downloading this data from the internet. Using the cache reduces the network load and helps pages load faster.

  1. Clear the cache
  2. Transfer your cache to an SD card

Clear the cache

  1. Tap in the browser (if you don't see this button, press the menu button on your smartphone).
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Go to the Privacy section.
  4. Tap Clear data.
  5. Select Cache.
  6. Deselect all the other options (if you only want to delete the browser cache).
  7. Tap Clear data.
  8. Confirm deletion.

Transfer your cache to an SD card

By default, the cache is written to the internal memory of your smartphone. To save space in the internal storage, you can transfer your cache to an SD card. The SD card has to meet the requirements of Yandex Browser for Mobile. It's checked when you try to transfer the cache.

Attention. Data that you transfer to an external drive becomes accessible to all third-party apps, including malicious ones. To protect your data, Yandex Browser for Mobile encrypts the cache when transferring it to an SD card.
To turn on cache transfer:
  1. Tap in the browser (if you don't see this button, press the menu button on your smartphone).
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Go to More settings and turn on Save cache to SD card.
  4. It may take a few minutes for the app to check your SD card.
  5. If your SD card meets the requirements, in the window select:
    • Restart to restart the browser immediately and start writing the cache to your SD card.
    • Later to put off restarting the browser and transferring your cache until later. The cache will be transferred after you restart your browser. It will continue to be written to the internal memory of your device until then.
Automatic cache transfer

With cache transfer enabled, your write access to the SD card is checked every time you restart, install, or update the browser. If you have access, the cache will automatically be transferred to your SD card.

What happens when the SD card is removed?

If the card is removed, the cache will write to the internal memory of your device.

If the memory card is removed while your browser is running, the browser will continue working, but the cache won't resume writing until you restart your browser. After restarting, the cache will write to the internal memory of your smartphone.

If you can't find the information you need in Help or you are having issues with Yandex Browser, please describe your actions step by step. Take a if possible. This will help our support specialists quickly find a solution for the issue you're experiencing.