Protect: sync passwords

You can sync passwords that you've saved in Yandex.Browser on your computers, smartphones and tablets. During the syncing process, an encrypted copy of your password repository gets sent to the Yandex server and then passed on to your other synced devices.Browser syncing Passwords from your other devices get added simultaneously to the vault on your current computer.

As a result:

  • The passwords you save will automatically get entered into forms on all your devices.
  • If your computer gets hacked, you can restore your passwords from the server.

Create a master password to ensure that nobody (including Yandex) can decrypt your passwords.

  1. Disable password syncing
  2. Password syncing conflict
  3. You have changed your password but your information is still encrypted with your old password

Disable password syncing

By default, passwords are included in the list of synced data, but you can opt to not sync them:

  1. Click  → Syncing.
  2. In the Syncing section, click Show settings.
  3. Disable the Passwords option.

Password syncing conflict

If you saved different master passwords on your unsynced smartphones, tablets or computers, there may be a conflict during syncing. For example, let's say you entered a master password on your smartphone and then synced your smartphone with your computer. In this case, the browser does not know which master password should be used to encrypt your merged vault.

If there is a syncing conflict, your settings icon will look like this: . To resolve the conflict:

  1. Click the  icon. If you don't do this right away, the settings icon will go back to its original appearance after some time. Then click   → Password manager.
  2. Enter your master password for the computer you're using.
  3. In the tab that opens, click Syncing conflict.
  4. The next steps you take will depend on whether you remember the master password you saved on your other device.
    You remember your master password for your other device
    1. Click Merge with password vault on this computer.
    2. Enter the master password for your other device.

    That way the browser will re-encrypt passwords from your other devices using the master password for your current computer. The master password for your other device will become invalid. Passwords from your current computer will be added to your joint password vault.

    You don't remember you master password for your other device

    In this case, you can delete your passwords from your other device. Just click Delete. Passwords encrypted using the master password you forgot will be deleted from all your synced devices. Passwords from your current computer will be added to your joint password vault. The vault will be encrypted using your master password from the current computer.

    You can also choose not to resolve the conflict. In this case, your passwords will not be synced (the history, bookmarks and other data will be synced as before).

    Note. If you created a recovery key on another device, try resetting the master password on it. Enter the master password for the computer you're using as your new master password.

You have changed your password but your information is still encrypted with your old password

Passwords are saved in encrypted form on Yandex's server. For encryption, the password to your Yandex account is used as a key. If you change that password, the browser needs to decrypt the passwords on the server and then re-encrypt them using a new key. If an error occurs during this process, you will see the error. To fix it:

  • If you remember your old account password:
    1. Click   → Syncing.
    2. Enter your old password in the sync form.
  • If you don't remember your old account password or didn't change it, then the encrypted passwords will be lost. However, you can restore the remaining sync data:
    1. Make sure that the browser has all the bookmarks, extensions, and settings that you want to save.
    2. Tap  → Settings.
    3. In the Syncing section, click Show settings.
    4. Click delete under Syncing. Your profile data will be deleted on the server.
    5. Enable syncing. Data will be sent from your browser to the server.